Similan Islands Liveaboard Reviews

product Similan Islands Liveaboard 2017-08-24 Reviews of Similan Islands Liveaboard with West Coast Divers Phuket
Customers Rating:
product
4.7
 out of 
based on
59
 Reviews

 

Write a Review

From Jessica B (Tripadvisor) on 2013-02-01

Rating:

5.02013-02-01Jessica BSimilan Islands Liveaboards Review from Jessica B. We booked a 4-night trip to the Similian Islands on the MV Pawara, staffed by West Coast Divers. Diving in the southern part of the chain was just decent, but we loved Elephant Head Rock, Koh Tachai, and Richelieu Rock. We could have spent another few days just at Richelieu. That pinnacle is covered in an amazing amount of life. We stopped at island #8 and climbed Sail Rock one afternoon. The views of the turquoise and cobalt sea, white sand beaches, and dark granite boulders was stunning. The boat is gorgeous and looks like it was recently updated. There is lots of comfortable living space, including an air conditioned salon and a huge sun deck. We opted for a standard cabin, which is a bit cramped, but we figured we only sleep and shower in there anyway. It had an ensuite and enough storage, so it worked. Our only complaint was the mattress. We've slept on some pretty hard mattresses throughout Asia and this was by far the worst. There are no blankets, only sheets, so consider packing a lightweight blanket if you tend to get chilled at night. This is a big, stable boat. Even our friend that said she always gets sea sick had no problems.I can't say enough great things about the staff. The dive staff gave very detailed briefings before every dive, complete with maps, and ran a very organized operation. All the guides were experienced instructors and were rigorous about safety and upholding PADI standards. Our boat was full, but they had enough guides to keep the groups small. Our group of five had our guide all to ourselves. We appreciated the safety rigor, but at the same time our guide was flexible enough to ascend with the divers that couldn't extend their air time quite as long and let the rest of us finish our dive. They had Nitrox on board, making it easy to switch over on those dives when we wanted to maximize bottom time, but we didn't have to commit to the extra expense for the entire trip. The dive staff seemed to know just how to schedule diving at each site so we usually had the site to ourselves. It seemed we were always departing just as a bunch of other boats showed up. This is definitely the way to dive these islands.The Thai staff were very friendly and accommodating (of course) and served very tasty and plentiful meals. Often times I starve for vegetables on liveaboards, especially since I don't eat a lot of meat, but not here! There was a great variety and everything was good. There was always hot tea, fruit, and cookies out, and I swear they were feeding us after every dive.We looked at many boats before booking this one, and I'm very glad we settled on the Pawara. It was a great trip and an amazing value. We booked through Jamie at Sunrise Divers, who was great to work with.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

We booked a 4-night trip to the Similian Islands on the MV Pawara, staffed by West Coast Divers. Diving in the southern part of the chain was just decent, but we loved Elephant Head Rock, Koh Tachai, and Richelieu Rock. We could have spent another few days just at Richelieu. That pinnacle is covered in an amazing amount of life. We stopped at island #8 and climbed Sail Rock one afternoon. The views of the turquoise and cobalt sea, white sand beaches, and dark granite boulders was stunning.

The boat is gorgeous and looks like it was recently updated. There is lots of comfortable living space, including an air conditioned salon and a huge sun deck. We opted for a standard cabin, which is a bit cramped, but we figured we only sleep and shower in there anyway. It had an ensuite and enough storage, so it worked. Our only complaint was the mattress. We’ve slept on some pretty hard mattresses throughout Asia and this was by far the worst. There are no blankets, only sheets, so consider packing a lightweight blanket if you tend to get chilled at night. This is a big, stable boat. Even our friend that said she always gets sea sick had no problems.

I can’t say enough great things about the staff. The dive staff gave very detailed briefings before every dive, complete with maps, and ran a very organized operation. All the guides were experienced instructors and were rigorous about safety and upholding PADI standards. Our boat was full, but they had enough guides to keep the groups small. Our group of five had our guide all to ourselves. We appreciated the safety rigor, but at the same time our guide was flexible enough to ascend with the divers that couldn’t extend their air time quite as long and let the rest of us finish our dive. They had Nitrox on board, making it easy to switch over on those dives when we wanted to maximize bottom time, but we didn’t have to commit to the extra expense for the entire trip. The dive staff seemed to know just how to schedule diving at each site so we usually had the site to ourselves. It seemed we were always departing just as a bunch of other boats showed up. This is definitely the way to dive these islands.

The Thai staff were very friendly and accommodating (of course) and served very tasty and plentiful meals. Often times I starve for vegetables on liveaboards, especially since I don’t eat a lot of meat, but not here! There was a great variety and everything was good. There was always hot tea, fruit, and cookies out, and I swear they were feeding us after every dive.

We looked at many boats before booking this one, and I’m very glad we settled on the Pawara. It was a great trip and an amazing value. We booked through Jamie at Sunrise Divers, who was great to work with.

From Pokkstar (Tripadvisor) on 2013-01-27

Rating:

5.02013-01-29PokkstarSimilan Islands Liveaboards Review from Pokkstar. My husband and I had our first liveaboard experience on MV Pawara - a 4 day/4night trip to the Similian Islands, Koh Tachai and Richelieu Rock. Though we're experienced divers we'd stayed away from liveaboards thus far because we both tend to get sea sick and also weren't sure we'd like being stuck on a boat for 4 days with the same people, same food, etc. Our experience on MV Pawara was just fantastic and put to bed all our concerns. The boat itself is very big and really beautiful both on the outside and in terms of the layout and decor. Every part of the boat is spotlessly clean and looks exactly as shown in the photos on the West Coast Divers website. The common areas of the boat are really nice and spacious, from the dining area to the sun deck to the lounge. The sun deck on top of the boat is beautiful, partly covered, and with both wicker loungers and padded mattresses. The indoor lounge is really nice, air conditioned, with a big screen TV, DVDs and even wifi that works on and off depending on the location. Best of all, none of the rooms feel damp or smell musty because the crew are fastidious about keeping them dry and ask the guests to do the same.We stayed in the best room, the master deluxe, which has windows looking out onto the sea and the front of the boat. Though the room is not very large, it has a double bed and is cleverly designed to maximise space. The bathroom is small but again adequate and there's always hot water in the shower. Sea sickness pills are always available in the dining area and the lounge. My husband and I took one every 24 hours and that seemed to do the trick for the most part. When the sea got a little choppy I needed to take another. I'd feel a little queasy for an hour until the pill started to work and then I was fine. After 3 days my husband didn't need to take any more sea sickness tablets, though I still did. Not getting sea sick was a big deal as this was what had kept us from going on liveaboards. But I will say that the sea was quite calm for our entire trip, and I did feel like everything was moving when I was back on ground for almost 3 days! Still, I'm now comfortable enough to go on another liveaboard, and that's a big change. The meals were very good and plentiful. Coffee and tea before the first dive, a big breakfast after, a snack after the second dive, then a big lunch. Then nap time on the sun deck :-) Then a snack after the third dive, and THEN dinner which is early but you're ready for it and ready to crash soon after. The food was really tasty without being overly spicy (not that I have a problem with spicy food but they have to cater to a wide audience). Some meals were Thai, others more Western, but all good. The dive masters were all fantastic, all super interesting guys, and great guides. They're very particular about safety and the dive briefs were detailed and very clear. The diving itself was good to great, depending on the dive sites. Having dived in the Maldives and Micronesia, we found the diving in the Similians to be good, not great. But we loved Koh Tachai and Richelieu Rock, the latter of which had the best and most diverse corals we've ever seen. All the crew on board were very helpful and always smiling. From gearing up for us, hauling us out of the water and hot towels after the evening dive :-) to lots of delicious snacks and clearing our plates for us. Our fellow guests were all great. Interesting and fun people. You never know who you'll be stuck with on your live aboard but we couldn't have asked for a better bunch. Overall we had an absolutely fantastic time on MV Pawara and found it to be very good value. The proof is in the pudding, as they say, and we've decided that this won't be our last liveaboard - what better endorsement that that! Highly recommended.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

My husband and I had our first liveaboard experience on MV Pawara – a 4 day/4night trip to the Similian Islands, Koh Tachai and Richelieu Rock.

Though we’re experienced divers we’d stayed away from liveaboards thus far because we both tend to get sea sick and also weren’t sure we’d like being stuck on a boat for 4 days with the same people, same food, etc.

Our experience on MV Pawara was just fantastic and put to bed all our concerns. The boat itself is very big and really beautiful both on the outside and in terms of the layout and decor. Every part of the boat is spotlessly clean and looks exactly as shown in the photos on the West Coast Divers website.

The common areas of the boat are really nice and spacious, from the dining area to the sun deck to the lounge. The sun deck on top of the boat is beautiful, partly covered, and with both wicker loungers and padded mattresses. The indoor lounge is really nice, air conditioned, with a big screen TV, DVDs and even wifi that works on and off depending on the location. Best of all, none of the rooms feel damp or smell musty because the crew are fastidious about keeping them dry and ask the guests to do the same.

We stayed in the best room, the master deluxe, which has windows looking out onto the sea and the front of the boat. Though the room is not very large, it has a double bed and is cleverly designed to maximise space. The bathroom is small but again adequate and there’s always hot water in the shower.

Sea sickness pills are always available in the dining area and the lounge. My husband and I took one every 24 hours and that seemed to do the trick for the most part. When the sea got a little choppy I needed to take another. I’d feel a little queasy for an hour until the pill started to work and then I was fine. After 3 days my husband didn’t need to take any more sea sickness tablets, though I still did. Not getting sea sick was a big deal as this was what had kept us from going on liveaboards. But I will say that the sea was quite calm for our entire trip, and I did feel like everything was moving when I was back on ground for almost 3 days! Still, I’m now comfortable enough to go on another liveaboard, and that’s a big change.

The meals were very good and plentiful. Coffee and tea before the first dive, a big breakfast after, a snack after the second dive, then a big lunch. Then nap time on the sun deck :-) Then a snack after the third dive, and THEN dinner which is early but you’re ready for it and ready to crash soon after. The food was really tasty without being overly spicy (not that I have a problem with spicy food but they have to cater to a wide audience). Some meals were Thai, others more Western, but all good.

The dive masters were all fantastic, all super interesting guys, and great guides. They’re very particular about safety and the dive briefs were detailed and very clear. The diving itself was good to great, depending on the dive sites. Having dived in the Maldives and Micronesia, we found the diving in the Similians to be good, not great. But we loved Koh Tachai and Richelieu Rock, the latter of which had the best and most diverse corals we’ve ever seen.

All the crew on board were very helpful and always smiling. From gearing up for us, hauling us out of the water and hot towels after the evening dive :-) to lots of delicious snacks and clearing our plates for us. Our fellow guests were all great. Interesting and fun people. You never know who you’ll be stuck with on your live aboard but we couldn’t have asked for a better bunch.

Overall we had an absolutely fantastic time on MV Pawara and found it to be very good value. The proof is in the pudding, as they say, and we’ve decided that this won’t be our last liveaboard – what better endorsement that that! Highly recommended.

From Paul Tanner on 2012-12-03

Rating:

5.02012-12-03Paul TannerAll members of staff from the boat boy to the instructors are amazing. This was the best Similan Islands Liveaboard trip i have ever been.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hey Doo,

This is the first time i’ve had time to email you.

I would like to say thank you and please pass on my thanks to your staff.

All members of staff from the boat boy to the instructors are amazing. This was the best Liveaboard
trip i have ever been on to the similans.

So thank you very much.

Also thank you for sending the email inquiry to me too. Thank you.

I have lots of Dive pros wanting to dive with you so if you need to fill the spaces on your boat
please give me as much notice as you can and i will be able to find divers for you.

Thank you again

From Doo on 2012-08-27

Rating:

5.02012-08-27DooWe are proud to introduce our new flagship MV Pawara. She will start the season the 1st of November 2012. Check at http://www.westcoastdivers.com/pawara/Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

We are proud to introduce our new flagship liveaboard vessel MV Pawara. She will start her first season on the 1st of November 2012. Please check at www.westcoastdivers.com/pawara/

From Georgie Mills on April 26, 2012

Rating:

4.52012-04-26Georgie MillsSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Georgie Mills with West Coast Divers. Thanks to Steve, Joe and the rest of the crew for great 4 days!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Thanks to Steve, Joe and the rest of the crew for a great 4 days! Some great dives especially the mantas! Loved the dive banter, but very professional setup! Cheers, Georgie and Neil

From Alexey on 2012-03-19

Rating:

5.02012-03-19AlexeySimilan Islands Liveaboards Review from Alexey. Comfortable ship, professional team. If I will dive once again on Phuket that only with you.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Comfortable ship, professional team, skilled guides. Spent 4 remarkable days onboard the ship, saw everything both a shark and a manta, and interesting wreck. If I will dive once again on Phuket that only with you. Russian team nitrox

From Marit and Kim on January 18, 2012

Rating:

4.52012-01-18Marit and KimSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Marit and Kim. A very nice liveaboard and good food! Thanks to the crew for doing an excellent job .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

A very nice boat and good food! Thank you to the crew for doing an excellent job. A special thanks to dive guide, Mr. Joe, for making our Similan diving the very best! :)

From Matt on April 3, 2011

Rating:

4.52011-04-30MattSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Matt. I dived in the Similans with West Coast a few years back, brilliant people and a great laugh !!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

I dived with West Coast Divers a few years back – brilliant people and a great laugh. Hopefully will be going back this year to dive with them again
Thanks guys

From Sue and Clinton on 25-10-2010

Rating:

5.02010-10-25Sue and ClintonSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Sue and Clinton. For whoever is thinking to take this liveaboard ride, enjoy it as much as we did !!!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Dear Andy, James, Kazu, Jib & All the Rest of the Team, including the best Chef, Great Assistants & Great Captain,
We would like to Thank you for the Great Experience. Being i would say Advanced beginner divers unlike the experienced divers we did not in any way feel we could not enjoy it like all the rest.
James was not given a fun team to work with, but with an ear problem Clinton had at one of the dives, i must say he was our savior at a critical time for us.
For whoever is thinking to take this ride, enjoy it as much as we did!!!
The food is the best in Thailand, and the Hospitality is outstanding.
Sue and Clinton from Malta

From James and Rachel on 7-02-2010

Rating:

5.02010-02-07James and RachelSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Rachel.The diving was amazing, the food was delicious and the West Coast team were all enthusiastic !Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

James, Andy, Kasu, Jib and all the crew – we had a blast. The trip (2nd-6th Feb 2010) was great fun. The diving was amazing, the food was delicious and the West Coast team were all enthusiastic, professional and fun. See you next time we are in Thailand.

James and Rachel.

From Kenny Pearson on 28-01-2009

Rating:

4.52009-01-28kenny pearsonSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Kenny. Like to say thanks to West Coast Divers. By far the best value for money dive company around .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Just like to say thanks to all at west coast divers.by far the best value for money dive company around,Simon & all the other dive masters were very professional.the equipment,boat, crew ,food & dive sites were all excellent.had a great 2 days diving & will be using WCD next time

From Vince Seng on 30-12-2008

Rating:

4.52008-12-30Vince SengSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Vince Seng. My wife and I would like to express our thanks to the staff at WCD, for our diving trip .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi there at West Coast Divers. Firstly have a splendid 2009 ahead!

My wife and I would like to express our thanks to the staff at WCD,for our diving trip on 27 Dec. It was our first dive of any kind….and it was awesome! We totally enjoyed it!

We would like to thank Clemo(our dive master)for his extended care and patience while taking us down for the 2 dives at Phi Phi island. We have experienced so much during this trip. Also thanks to Giel for the fotos that we were given for us to bring this wonderful experience back home!

Cheers to all in WCD…..!

Blessed New Year!

Warmest regards,
Vince And Crystal (Singapore)

From Perry Bragg-Dale on 15-08-2008

Rating:

5.02008-08-15Perry Bragg-DaleSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Perry. I dove with you guys last September and had an amazing time.I am coming back again this Sept.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hey, I am assuming Gareth is still working at West Coast? I did my OW with you guys last September and had an amazing time. I am coming back again this Sept and am bringing another 2 guys that also want to do their OW.

So I will see you guys again soon.

Cheers,

Perry

From Liz Wyllie on 27-05-2008

Rating:

4.02008-05-27Liz WyllieSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Liz Wyllie. All staff knowledgable and helpful. The equipment was great and the dives were awesome .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Had a great time despite weather. We completed an open water diver course. All staff friendly knowledgable and helpful. The equipment was great and the dives were awesome. Can recommend as a place to learn to dive. Liz

From April on 23-03-2008

Rating:

5.02008-03-23AprilSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From April. Thank you so much for the wonderful liveaboard. It was my first with only six previous dives .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Thank you so much for the wonderful live aboard experience. It was my first with only six dives under my belt. The whole crew(kitchen staff, the captain, gear helper’s) was amazing. The friendliest and most helpful people I have ever met. Holger made me feel so comfortable and safe. I will be coming back for my next live aboard in a year or so. So save me a seat !

From Terry & Pian on 19-02-2008

Rating:

5.02008-02-19Terry & PianSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Terry. Everything was wonderful, food, boat, crew and especially the diving.Hope to see you in April.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Greetings from Baghdad, Thanks Doo for getting Pian certified in time for our trip to the Similans. She did great and we both had a great time. Everything was wonderful, food, boat, crew, and especially the diving. Hope to see you on my next R&R in April.

From Anthony Irving on 2-01-2008

Rating:

5.02008-01-02Anthony IrvingSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Anthony. I could not recommend West Coast Divers enough. We did our AOW for a very reasonable price .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Thank you to Holger and all the team for one of the best times of my life. The Similans is a wonderful place with fantastic diving. Seeing the whale shark was the iceing on the cake. I could not reccommend West Coast divers enough. We also did our advance for a very reasonable price. Thanks Again Anthony, Paul, Scott and Phil.

From George Mortimer on 4-12-2007

Rating:

5.02007-12-04George MortimerSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From George Mortimer. Must be at least my sixth trip with u guys - it was as good as ever, excellent crew.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Thanks once again Milton – must be at least my sixth trip with u guys – it was as good as ever – excellent crew from Captain Tong down, great food (as ever) would recommend anyone to experience a liv-a-board trip with yourselves. Keep up the good work Joan and I will see u again soon. Love G & J Mortimer.

From Dwi Tjandra on 28-11-2007

Rating:

4.02007-11-28Dwi TjandraSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Dwi with West Coast Divers. Thanks for Gareth the dive-guide. Very nice boat and equipment. Cheers !Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Thanks guys, it was nice daytrip I had. We went to anemone reef, shark point and koh doc mai. Thanks for Gareth the dive-guide. Nice boat, nice equipment. Cheers !

From Emma on 9-10-2007

Rating:

5.02007-10-09EmmaSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Emma. A big THANK YOU to West Coast Divers for these wonderful dives. I really want to come back !!!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

A big THANK YOU to West Coast Divers for all these wonderful dives. And a huge thank you to John who made them amazing…
I want to come back !!

From Ian McNeill on 12-08-2007

Rating:

4.52007-08-12ian mcneillSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Ian McNeill with West Coast Divers. Thanks for such a great diving experience in the Similan Islands.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Thanks for a great diving experience.
Garreth if possible could you email me some of the pics u took?
cheers ian

From Tariq Essa Amin on 28-06-2007

Rating:

5.02007-06-28Tariq Essa AminSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Tariq. This was an amazing experience and I would recommend it to all divers, beginners or advanced.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Myself and a group of friends joined the west coast divers in October 2006. This was an amazing experience and I would recommend it to all types of divers, beginners or the more advanced. The staff on board were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was to die for and I am still craving it! The dive sites were beautiful and fun to dive with a lot to see!!! If i get a chance i will do this again 4 sure!!

From Joris Mulder on 21-04-2007

Rating:

4.52007-04-21Joris MulderSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Joris. Nice boat, very nice staff. Great help during getting ready to dive and getting back from itSimilan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Just back from a 4-day trip and really enjoyed it!!

Nice boat (or ship?) and very good and nice staff. Great help during getting ready to dive and getting back from it, also if you’re NOT using a wet suit.
And the food was also very nice, a tasteful meal or snack after every dive !!
And a captain that can park the boat into a car park, i think.
And skillful dive crew, they know about the environment and all the marine live. That makes diving a rich experience.
Thanks Milton and all the others from West Coast Divers.

From Jessica on 27-03-2007

Rating:

5.02007-03-27JessicaSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Jessica. A wonderful trip. My friends are jealous because they have never seen a whale shark before !Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

A wonderful dive trip. My friends are jealous because they have never seen a whale shark before!

From George Muller & Tanja on 29-12-2006

Rating:

4.52006-12-29George Muller & TanjaSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From George Muller & Tanja. It was delicoius! Thank you very much for your excellent care and instructionsSimilan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Dear Milton, Nick and the rest of the West Coast Divers Team!
Back in cold Zurich, we remember yet very well our dive safari End of November this year… It was delicoius – a great adventure! Thank you very much for your excellent care and the good instructions Padi Advanced…)! By the way, Nick, we bought a compass… so we won\’t get lost in the deep blue!
We can only recommend your organisation! The instructors, the dive trips, the food an the ship… everything was superb!
However, we like to wish you a happy new and successful year!
With Love from the deep snow

Tanja & George

From Henrik on 30-05-2006

Rating:

4.52006-05-30HenrikSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Henrik with West Coast Divers. Thank you for a great week will return, next the Similan Islands !Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi West Coast,

Thank you for a great week, and ‘Nick’ great instructor for my Open Water+Advanced. Will return, what’s next – the Similan Island!

Best Regards.
Henrik.

From Simon Lam & Jamie on 17-05-2006

Rating:

4.52006-05-17Simon Lam & Jamie FongSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Simon. Thanks for bringing back memories of the good times we had with West Coast Divers liveaboard .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Dear Milton & Doo,
Greetings from Singapore. Just visited your website & saw our wedding pic. Tks for showing our u/w wedding shot, brings back memories, but more importantly, reminded us of the good times we had with you guys. Jamie & I hope to return soon & dive with you guys. Til next time….
Simon/Jamie & little Eliza

From Charles Reynolds on 16-04-2006

Rating:

4.02006-04-16Charles ReynoldsSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Charles with West Coast Divers. I had a great time in and enjoyed my diving experience very much !!!!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

I had a great time in Thailand and enjoyed my diving experience very much. Michael was a great instructor and I look forward to gettting my advanced open water in July.

From Erik Blix on 11-04-2006

Rating:

5.02006-04-11Erik BlixSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Erik Blix. Our trip with West Coast Divers liveaboard was simply superb. No-one could ask for more...Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Well, what can I say more? One has to agree with Jörgen and Mikael – our trip with West Coast Divers’ live aboard was simply superb in every aspect.

No-one could ask for more. I miss that boat, those lovely days, the beautiful dive sites, the food, Milton and his crew, the Bubble Buddies of Sweden and all you other divers…

I’ll be back for sure. Told my 15-year-old son (and diving buddy) about the last magnificent manta dive – he turned green with envy and probably won’t regain his natural color again until I take him with me for another lovely voyage to Richelieu and the Similans. See ya!
Erik

From Michael Kristiansson on 9-04-2006

Rating:

5.02006-04-09Michael KristianssonSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Michael Kristiansson. Thank you for 4 great days at M/V West coast explorer. Mantas were wonderful !!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi Milton!

Thank you for 4 great days at M/V West coast explorer
That thing with the Mantas was wonderful.

Best regards

Michael (Jörgens group)

From Envir0ment (Tripadvisor) on 2013-01-29

Rating:

4.02013-01-29PokkstarSimilan Islands Liveaboards Review from Pokkstar. My husband and I had our first liveaboard experience on MV Pawara - a 4 day/4night trip to the Similian Islands, Koh Tachai and Richelieu Rock. Though we're experienced divers we'd stayed away from liveaboards thus far because we both tend to get sea sick and also weren't sure we'd like being stuck on a boat for 4 days with the same people, same food, etc. Our experience on MV Pawara was just fantastic and put to bed all our concerns. The boat itself is very big and really beautiful both on the outside and in terms of the layout and decor. Every part of the boat is spotlessly clean and looks exactly as shown in the photos on the West Coast Divers website. The common areas of the boat are really nice and spacious, from the dining area to the sun deck to the lounge. The sun deck on top of the boat is beautiful, partly covered, and with both wicker loungers and padded mattresses. The indoor lounge is really nice, air conditioned, with a big screen TV, DVDs and even wifi that works on and off depending on the location. Best of all, none of the rooms feel damp or smell musty because the crew are fastidious about keeping them dry and ask the guests to do the same.We stayed in the best room, the master deluxe, which has windows looking out onto the sea and the front of the boat. Though the room is not very large, it has a double bed and is cleverly designed to maximise space. The bathroom is small but again adequate and there's always hot water in the shower. Sea sickness pills are always available in the dining area and the lounge. My husband and I took one every 24 hours and that seemed to do the trick for the most part. When the sea got a little choppy I needed to take another. I'd feel a little queasy for an hour until the pill started to work and then I was fine. After 3 days my husband didn't need to take any more sea sickness tablets, though I still did. Not getting sea sick was a big deal as this was what had kept us from going on liveaboards. But I will say that the sea was quite calm for our entire trip, and I did feel like everything was moving when I was back on ground for almost 3 days! Still, I'm now comfortable enough to go on another liveaboard, and that's a big change. The meals were very good and plentiful. Coffee and tea before the first dive, a big breakfast after, a snack after the second dive, then a big lunch. Then nap time on the sun deck :-) Then a snack after the third dive, and THEN dinner which is early but you're ready for it and ready to crash soon after. The food was really tasty without being overly spicy (not that I have a problem with spicy food but they have to cater to a wide audience). Some meals were Thai, others more Western, but all good. The dive masters were all fantastic, all super interesting guys, and great guides. They're very particular about safety and the dive briefs were detailed and very clear. The diving itself was good to great, depending on the dive sites. Having dived in the Maldives and Micronesia, we found the diving in the Similians to be good, not great. But we loved Koh Tachai and Richelieu Rock, the latter of which had the best and most diverse corals we've ever seen. All the crew on board were very helpful and always smiling. From gearing up for us, hauling us out of the water and hot towels after the evening dive :-) to lots of delicious snacks and clearing our plates for us. Our fellow guests were all great. Interesting and fun people. You never know who you'll be stuck with on your live aboard but we couldn't have asked for a better bunch. Overall we had an absolutely fantastic time on MV Pawara and found it to be very good value. The proof is in the pudding, as they say, and we've decided that this won't be our last liveaboard - what better endorsement that that! Highly recommended.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

I’m a new diver, and this was my first liveaboard dive experience. I loved it, despite missing half my dives, due to not being able to equalize and feeling sick! The Thai crew was excellent, making me ginger tea to help with my nausea, despite the seasick pills (it was clearly not seasickness I experienced), and helping to zip up my full wetsuit, and hauling me out of the water after each dive! The dive guides are friendly, knowledgeable, and experienced, and are very particular about dive safety. I made friends with all the guests, and by the end of the trip, we were a big happy family! I’m glad I made the decision to book the trip on the Pawara!

From Art & Bonnie on 2012-12-07

Rating:

5.02012-12-07Art & BonnieSimilan Islands Liveaboards Review from Art & Bonnie. Hello,I wanted to drop a note to say thank you for a wonderful time on the Pawara!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hello,

I wanted to drop a note to say thank you for a wonderful time on the Pawara!

We just came home and are missing the diving and the wonderful crew. A special thanks to Vince,Yame, Phil and Martin, they made our vacation a once in a lifetime experience!Please forward our hellos and love to your divemasters and crew!

I proposed to my girlfriend,( now my fiancée ) on this trip and we will never forget the time we spent with you guys!

I’ve attached some photos for you to share and we look forward to visiting again soon! Happy voyages!

Best, Art Chudabala

From Stuart and Billy on 2012-11-24

Rating:

5.02012-11-24Stuart and BillySimilan Islands Liveaboards Review from Stuart and Billy. To the staff on board for making the best food I’ve ever had on a dive trip anywhere in the world.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Dear Doo,

Just a note to say a big thank you to yourself for being so helpful and making my booking of the Pawara trip from the 10th to the 14th of November so easy. Any questions or queries I had were answered almost immediately – do you ever sleep?

To Yame, Phil, Jenny and the rest of the dive crew on board the Pawara for making our dive experiences the best they could have possibly been, there friendliness and professionalism is a credit to West Coast divers and to all Dive professionals throughout the world – as an ex dive instructor myself, I was truly impressed.

To the catering staff on board for making the best food I’ve ever had on a dive trip anywhere in the world – I wasn’t the only customer on board to say this, everyone was extremely happy with the food and the service with a smile, and it was quite possibly the tastiest Spag bol I’ve ever had.

To the captain and the boat boys – again true professionalism throughout the whole trip, the lads on the dive deck were so helpful to everyone and made sure exit and entry to the vessel was seem less, our tanks were always full and our equipment ready to go.
Once again thanks to everyone involved, you guys have really got it right.

Hope to see you again next year, Stuart.

From Richard Costes on 2012-08-04

Rating:

5.02012-08-04Richard CostesSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review from Richard. Had a great time on Hallelujah last December, looking forward for Pawara later this season !!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Had a great time on Hallelujah last December, looking forward for Pawara later this season !!!

From Michael on April 9, 2012

Rating:

5.02012-04-09MichaelSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Michael. Thanks to Steve for a fantastic trip on the M/V Hallelujah in April. I highly recommend him .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Thanks to Steve for a fantastic trip on the MV Hallelujah March 31-April 4. Steve did a fantastic job managing the entire diving experience, from site selection to adjusting for current, all while making sure we saw the most interesting creatures (sea horses! Pineapple fish!). He went beyond being a simple dive guide and truly excelled at being the Dive Director. I highly recommend him for his dedication and commitment to safety.

From Trista & Thomas on February 4, 2012

Rating:

5.02012-02-04Trista & ThomasSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Trista. Still flicking through the pictures since we are back from this relaxing and beautiful trip !!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

HALLELUJAH 26.01.2012 to 30.01.2012. Still flicking through the pictures every day since we are back from this terrific relaxing and beautiful trip. Todd, Steve, thanks again for showing us the Similan’s Underwater World. The BILLY CONNOLLY’s DVDs are in the mail :). Best regards and see you in November !

From Janet Goddard on December 21, 2011

Rating:

5.02011-12-21Janet GoddardSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Janet Goddard. Just wanted to tell anyone looking for the best Liveaboard trip, you have found it !!!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Just wanted to tell anyone looking for the best Live aboard trip in Thailand — you have found it !!! Look no further !! I have dived these waters on many different Live aboard boats over the past 15 years and this is by far THE BEST. The boat is luxurious, the crew helpful and the food is plentiful and tasty. Steve the Dive Leader is extremely knowledgeable and paid attention to every detail. I initially suffered with a little ” lack of confidence ” ( an age thing !!) but under Steve’s expert guidance soon recovered my strength and ability. A truly memorable experience. Many thanks. I will be back !!

From tomt on 17-11-2010

Rating:

4.52010-11-17tomtSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From tomt. Thanks to you all West Coast Divers. You are the best!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi Westcoastdivers,
Thanks to you all – you are the best!
Bye,
tomt

From Len Chong on 18-03-2010

Rating:

4.52010-03-18Len ChongSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Len Chong.Thanks to all the crew for a wonderful liveaboard diving experience in the Similan Islands.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hello West Coast Divers. Thank you to Andy, James, Fumiko, Kazu, Captain and the crew for a wonderful diving experience in the Similan Islands. Not to mention, thank you for the amazing cuisine and good company! (Trip 2nd to 6th Feb, 2010)

I am trying to email some photos to Sonya and Dennis (from Germany on the same dive trip) with little success. Would West Coast Divers be able to send me their email details?

Keep up the great enthusiasm! We\’ll be seeing in the future for sure.

Len

From Phil Assem on 15-04-2009

Rating:

5.02009-04-15Phil AssemSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Phil. Went on a liveaboard to the Similans where we saw a whale shark!! What an amazing trip it was !Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

I was in Phuket from January through March and I spent most of my time with the fantastic instructors at West Coast Divers while taking my Advanced Open Water, Rescue Diver and Divemaster courses. They were tough but I wouldn’t want it any other way. The confidence they instill with all the training will allow me to go anywhere in the world and preform as a top level Divemaster should. As a final cherry on the cake – Divemaster’s, upon completion of the course, get to go on the live-aboard to the Similan Islands where we saw a whale shark!! What an amazing trip that was.

Thanks again guys, I’ll never forget the time I spent with your team and I hope to see you again when I’m back in Thailand

From Raadhika Sookoo on 6-01-2009

Rating:

4.52009-01-06Raadhika SookooSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Raadhika. Thanks for a wonderful experience.The diving was memorable and the highlight of my holiday.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi all

Thanks for a wonderful experience – the dive was the highlight of my holiday. Clemont, thanks for making me feel very safe and making this trip memorable.

From Brita on 24-12-2008

Rating:

5.02008-12-24BritaSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Brita. THANKS to the most professional dive staff I have met (and I have been on many Liveaboards! ).Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

I just came back from 2 trips on the West Coast Explorer and I would like to thank the staff once again for the excellent time I had. Everybody was very helpful and friendly and it made diving a real pleasure! A very special THANKS to Darren and KAZU were the most helpful, professional, friendly and engaged dive staff I have ever encountered (and I have been on TONS of Liveaboards before!:)
The dive sites and diving conditions were really great, and Darren and Kazu made sure that everyone would get the MAX out of their dive trip. Thank you very very much! West Coast Divers can be really happy to have such an outstanding staff!
all the best and thanks again,
Brita

From Anna on 29-05-2008

Rating:

4.52008-05-29AnnaSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Anna. I would definitely recommend West Coast Divers. They are experienced and safety conscious.....Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi Eric and Greg

Thank you very much for your help and encouragement especially you Greg (Canadian Greg)to make my first dive possible.. you have introduced whole new world to me.

I would most definitely recommend West Coast Divers – they are experienced, knowledgeable, friendly and above all safety conscious… Boat was very nice and food was yummie.

I hope I see you again soon..

p.s. Greg – sorry I have lost your email address.

From Gergo Csallo on 20-05-2008

Rating:

4.52008-05-20Gergo CsalloSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Gergo with West Coast Divers.Thanks for the very good memories and for introducing me to a new world!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

To Eric and all divemasters,

We went for a try dive with you guys on October 3, 2007. I fell in love with scuba diving, now I just finished my rescue course. Thanks for the good memories and for introducing me to a new world!

Gergo

From Glen on 1-03-2008

Rating:

4.52008-03-01GlenSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Glen. It has convinced me to come back in 6 months for a liveaboard with your. Keep up the good work.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi All

Tx for the awesome diving in Phuket in last week, especially Gulia, you were a great DM. It has convinced me to come back in 6 months (or sooner) to do a liveaboard with your team. Keep up the good work.

Cheers
Glen Sampson
South Africa

From George Mortimer on 4-02-2008

Rating:

5.02008-02-04George MortimerSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From George.You are up to such a standard that other operators will have to struggle to get anywhere near.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Congratulations Doo & Milton – four excellent days diving on the day boat – Eric the boat supervisor was on the ball as always, boat boys assisting all the time was very much appreciated. You are coming up to such a standard that other dive operators are going to have to struggle to get anywhere near your standard.

Great diving – thank you very much – will be back soon (again)

From Eduardo on 12-12-2007

Rating:

4.02007-12-12EduardoSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Eduardo with West Coast Divers. Back in Spain, I'd like to Thank you again for the course we took !!!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Back in Spain, I’d like to Thank you for the OW course we took. Because of the rain last day, we had not the chance of say good bye as we would like.
Congratulations Garreth! (I did OK even in English!)
Garreth, could you please send us any photo you took us?
Thank You again!!.
Eduardo Cristos
(sorry about my English)

From H. Sungil (Augustine) on 30-11-2007

Rating:

4.52007-11-30Hong Sungil (Augustine)Similan Islands Liveaboard Review From Hong. Excellent Similans views, very good food, nice guide, well trained crew and wonderful budget .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

I’m very thanks that I had a good time on M/V WEST COAST EXPLORER. Excellent view, good food, nice guide, well trained crew and wonderful budget. Thank you Milton, Holger and Kazu!! You guided me to the wonderful place of Similan!!

From Noori AlKhatrash on 27-11-2007

Rating:

4.02007-11-27Noori AlKhatrashSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Noori . Phuket in 2007 was intended for diving only and am glad I had the chance to dive with you .Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

It was my first trip to Phuket in Nov. 2007 and it was intended for diving only and am glad I had the chance to dive with you . Eric and the rest of the gang were very courteous, professional and fun to dive with and I hope to see them in my future trip to the island
Thanks

From Tom Unsworth on 7-10-2007

Rating:

5.02007-10-07Tom UnsworthSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Tom. YOU ARE THE BEST. We had a memorable diving experience in the WHOLE WORLD with your dive guides.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

West Coast Divers, YOU ARE THE BEST. We had the best diving experience in the WHOLE WORLD with your dive guides Eric Feron, Max, John and Matt and crew Mart, Saa and Iip. They were true professionals and made our dive trips the most memorable ever! Each of your staff were courteous and professional. They are a true reflection of a first class operation.

From Andy Etheridge on 11-08-2007

Rating:

5.02007-08-11andy etheridgeSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Andy. What an experience, leopard sharks, octopus, and even got to to dive with manta rays. Thanks !!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Went to Phuket with the intention of learning to dive, Booked with west coast and what an experience, leopard sharks, octopus, and even got to the Similans and dived with manta rays. Thanks to Milton, Phil and Nick.
Don’t delay book today!!!! I am back for xmas

From Martinrobbo on 17-06-2007

Rating:

5.02007-06-17MartinrobboSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Martinrobbo with West Coast Divers. Hey just saying a last thank you since i enjoyed it so much !!!!!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hey just saying a last thank you since i enjoyed it so much!!
Milton is a great diving instructor !
Robbo x

From Hayley McArdle on 19-04-2007

Rating:

5.02007-04-19Hayley McArdleSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Hayley. All the West Coast Divers crew were really friendly! I hope that i can come back again soon ! Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi!
I had a great time diving! My Instructor was John! It was my first ever time doing diving and i really enjoyed it!
The crew were really friendly! i hope that i can come back again soon! Thanks!

From Rob and Edie English on 8-03-2007

Rating:

4.52007-03-08Rob and Edie EnglishSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Rob and Edie. Thanks for a great trip (Feb 16th-Feb 20th). Live aboard is really the best way to go ! Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hi Everyone,

Thanks for a great trip (Feb 16th – Feb 20th). Live aboard is the best way to go! Special thanks to Phil for taking the time to complete our Peak Performance Buoyancy course. Your ‘sharp’ final exam is a secret with us :) Melton – thanks for the adjust with our new camera. We got some great pictures.

From Pauline on 7-12-2006

Rating:

5.02006-12-07PaulineSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Pauline with West Coast Divers. Thanks for giving us a wonderful, enjoyable and safe Similans trip.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Just want to thank West Coast for giving us a wonderful and safe diving trip.
We just went diving two days ago, although visibility wasn’t great, West Coast did their best to make our trip enjoyable.
Personal thanks to Thut, the boat master who took personal care and many pictures of us.
Although we had our own underwater camera but our pics just couldn’t equal the ones taken by professional divers ;
We also want to warn others of using the other dive company called South Siam in Phuket. Our plans were very much affected when they didn’t show up to pick us up for our trip and they were rude and non apologetic after that.
Luckily for us, West Coast came to the rescue. Special thanks to Nathan too for arranging for us.

From Hakan Erol on 28-05-2006

Rating:

4.02006-05-28Hakan ErolSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Hakan Erol with West Coast Divers. Made me think fly there and check and hit some Meakong evenings...Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Nice webpage…made me fly there and check and hit some Meakong evenings…

Sawadee krup…

Hakan

From Roz and Dave Haines on 17-04-2006

Rating:

5.02006-04-17Roz and Dave HainesSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Roz . Had a great time on the West Coast Divers Liveaboard for the second year running. Thanks a lot!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

Hello Milton and Doo
Had a great time on the West Coast Liveaboard for the second year running. Diving with the big black and white flappy things at Koh Bon is an experience we will never forget……. Will be back next season, for sure! Thanks a lot Milton and all the crew.

From Bo Lextorp on 12-04-2006

Rating:

5.02006-04-12Bo LextorpSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Bo Lextorp.The crew: you made it just fantastic! Yes, I will be back and thank you fore the memories.Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

To the crew: you made it just fantastic! Yes, I will be back and thank you fore the memories.
Best regards
Bosse, member of the Bubble Buddys (Jorgens Group)

From Jorgen Svedberg on 11-04-2006

Similan Islands Liveaboard

A million thanks for a wonderful trip to the Similans April 2-6. We loved the West Coast Explorer; the boat, food, staff and the diving and especially Milton, maybe the best tour leader ever! After ending the trip with 16 Manta sightings and one bonus Eagle Ray at Koh Bon, what can you say…fabulous! And thanks to Khun Doo taking care of logistics and bookings in a marvelous way. We will for sure return!
Jorgen and the nine other crazy swedes.

From Rob and Edie English on 02-04-2006

Rating:

4.02006-04-02Rob and Edie EnglishSimilan Islands Liveaboard Review From Rob. We are currently in the process of getting our PADI Open Water licence. Can't wait to start !!!!Similan Islands Liveaboard
Similan Islands Liveaboard

We are currently in the process of getting our PADI Open Water certification. We plan to dive with West Coast Divers in Feb of 2007. Can’t wait.

© Copyright Reserved West Coast Divers 1997-2017